Irish Wolfhound
Irish Symbols
National Anthem
St Patrick's Day
National Flag
Irish Geography
Irish Government
Irish History
Celtic Ireland
Modern Ireland
Irish Environment
Irish Finance
Name Origin
Irish Wild Life
Tourist Information
Population Statistics
Official Name
Irish Religions
Soldiers Song

Irish Gifts

The Official Name of Ireland (Origin)

 The Constitution states the name of the country is Éire, or in the English language, Ireland. Normally practice the name Éire is restricted to texts Ireland is used in all English-language texts, and of course equivalent translations are used in other languages.

The Republic of Ireland Act of 1948 provides a description of the State as: "the Republic of Ireland", but general usage of the state as Ireland is prevalent in the English language.

The root of the name Éire is uncertain but it is thought to be a name of considerable antiquity. It first appears as Ierne in Greek writings which may have a base dating as early as the 5th century BC. The name appears as Iouernia in Ptolemy's map (c AD 150) and has also been found translated into Latin as Iuverna.

The Latin form, Hibernia, appears in the works of Caesar, who may have confused it with the Latin word hibernus (wintry). Ériu was an Old Irish form of Éire, and was seen in the earliest of Irish literature.

Ireland is derived from the Irish word Éire adding the Germanic word Land.

Ireland's Provincial Flags
Today's Date:  
 Gaelic is the Celtic branch of the Indo-European family of languages. About one person in five in Ireland can speak Irish today, but only one in 20 use it daily. In Scotland approximately 80,000 people speak Gaelic.
 Saint Patrick (about 389-461) is the patron saint of Ireland. Patrick was born in Britain.
  Ireland, together with Britain, joined the European Economic Community in 1973.
 The population of the island as a whole is just under 6 million(2006), 4.20 million live in the Irish Republic and 1.7 million live in Northern Ireland.
Ireland is a parliamentary democracy. The National Parliament (Oireachtas) consists of the President and two Houses: Dáil Éireann (the House of Representatives) and Seanad Éireann (the Senate) Northern Ireland has a parliamentary monarchy and an electoral democracy. The voting age is 18 in both parts of Ireland.


    © Copyright 1998-2006Proud Irish Information ]