Irish History
Ireland 10,000 BC
Ireland 1 AD
Ireland 1000 AD
Ireland 1500 AD
Ireland 1600 AD

Ireland 1650 AD
Ireland 1700 AD
Ireland 1800 AD

Ireland 1850 AD
Ireland 1870 AD
Ireland 1890 AD
Ireland 1920 ADD

Irish History from 10,000-100 BC

Earliest settlers arrived in Ireland. They crossed by land bridge from Scotland. These people were mainly hunters.
3000 BC
Colonists of the stone-age period reached Ireland. These people were farmers. Remnants of their civilization have been excavated at Lough Gur in Co. Limerick. They traded in a limited form in products, such as axe-heads. One of their monuments, a megalithic tomb at Newgrange in Co. Meath, has survived.
2000 BC
Prospectors and metalworkers arrived. Metal deposits were discovered; bronze and gold objects were made. Items such as axe-heads, pottery and jewelrey have been found.

1200 BC
More people reached Ireland, producing a greater variety of weapons and artifacts. A common dwelling was the "crannog", an artificial island, constructed in the middle of a lake.

500-600 BC
Celts started arriving in Ireland. They continued to arrive, up to the time of Christianity. They soon began to dominate Ireland.
200 BC
The Celtic culture of the La Tene civilization reached Ireland.
100 BC
Arrival of the Gaels

Ireland's Provincial Flags
Today's Date:  
 Gaelic is the Celtic branch of the Indo-European family of languages. About one person in five in Ireland can speak Irish today, but only one in 20 use it daily. In Scotland approximately 80,000 people speak Gaelic.
 Saint Patrick (about 389-461) is the patron saint of Ireland. Patrick was born in Britain.
  Ireland, together with Britain, joined the European Economic Community in 1973.
 The Celts and Ancient History, Bronze and Iron Age - The ancient culture of the Celts had settled in many European countries including Austria, Britain, Ireland, France, Holland, Belgium, Switzerland, Western Germany, Northern Spain, Turkey and Hungary.
Ireland is a parliamentary democracy. The National Parliament (Oireachtas) consists of the President and two Houses: Dáil Éireann (the House of Representatives) and Seanad Éireann (the Senate) Northern Ireland has a parliamentary monarchy and an electoral democracy. The voting age is 18 in both parts of Ireland.


    © Copyright 1998-2006Proud Irish Information ]